Compare · NaturalReader vs Speech Central
NaturalReader vs Speech Central
NaturalReader: AI text-to-speech app for personal use that reads PDFs, documents, books, webpages and study materials aloud. Speech Central: Text-to-speech app for reading PDFs, web articles, books and documents, sold as a one-time purchase with no ads or data collection. Here is how they differ, and where Book2Speech fits if what you want is your books as audiobooks.
Choose NaturalReader if…
•
MP3 download of narrated text on every paid plan (1 million characters a month).
•
A pronunciation editor for correcting how words and names are read.
•
A free tier with unlimited listening using the free voices.
•
Voice cloning on Plus and Pro, and an OCR scanner for printed pages.
Choose Speech Central if…
•
One-time purchase instead of a subscription, and free for blind users and schools.
•
Works offline with the device’s own voices; runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac and Windows.
•
Export of text to audio files for offline listening (format not stated on the fetched pages).
•
Deep customisation and accessibility profiles for ADHD, dyslexia and low vision.
Or, for your books: Book2Speech
•
Any book, not just the bestsellers that got an audiobook: fewer than 1 in 100 books ever does.
•
Unlimited free listening in English with Standard voices, no trial clock.
•
A real audiobook file to keep: M4B with chapters and cover, or MP3. One is included on the Free plan.
•
Built for whole books: the book’s own chapters, a start past the front matter, page clutter left out of PDFs.
•
265 narrators in 42 languages, and 70,000 free classics ready to play.
•
Paid plans from $4.99 a month.
Notes on the comparison
Pricing shown in USD on 2026-10-07 from the vendor help centre; the US App Store also lists a Premium plan at $9.99/month or $59.99/year.
Formats from the App Store description: PDF, Word (.doc and .docx), PowerPoint, RTF, TXT, DRM-free EPUB and images. MOBI is absent.
Offline listening is through downloaded MP3 files (“listen offline”), a paid-plan feature.
The help centre mentions jumping to headings (Contents) but not chapter detection, so it is shown as not verified.
Price in USD from the US App Store in-app purchase list on 2026-10-07; the vendor homepage gives no figure (“One-time purchase. No ads. No data collection.”).
Formats from the App Store description: PDF (including scanned), EPUB, Word (.docx), PowerPoint, OpenOffice, HTML, TXT, RTF, Markdown. MOBI absent.
Word highlighting and the sleep timer (now “Sleep Assistant”) are confirmed on the vendor’s own blog. Chapter detection and pronunciation editing were not stated on a fetched page.
Questions people ask
Which is cheaper, NaturalReader or Speech Central?
NaturalReader: Lite $13.90/month or $79/year; Plus $20.90/month or $119/year; Pro $25.90/month or $159/year (Personal version, USD). Speech Central: One-time purchase: Speech Central Pro $9.99 in-app purchase (US App Store). For books, Book2Speech starts free and from $4.99 a month.
Which has a better free plan, NaturalReader or Speech Central?
NaturalReader: Free: unlimited listening with free voices; AI voices limited (20,000 characters a day with Lite voices, 4,000 with Plus voices); no MP3 conversion. Speech Central: Free download with a one-time in-app upgrade; free access for blind users with VoiceOver and for schools deploying through Apple School Manager. Book2Speech’s Free plan has unlimited English listening with Standard voices.
Can I download audiobooks with NaturalReader or Speech Central?
NaturalReader: MP3. Speech Central: not confirmed on its own pages. Book2Speech downloads an M4B with chapters and cover, or an MP3, and the Free plan includes one.