Compare · Speech Central vs Audible
Speech Central vs Audible
Speech Central: Text-to-speech app for reading PDFs, web articles, books and documents, sold as a one-time purchase with no ads or data collection. Audible: Amazon’s audiobook store and membership: professionally narrated audiobooks and podcasts from its catalogue, rather than narration of your own files. Here is how they differ, and where Book2Speech fits if what you want is your books as audiobooks.
Choose Speech Central if…
•
One-time purchase instead of a subscription, and free for blind users and schools.
•
Works offline with the device’s own voices; runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac and Windows.
•
Export of text to audio files for offline listening (format not stated on the fetched pages).
•
Deep customisation and accessibility profiles for ADHD, dyslexia and low vision.
Choose Audible if…
•
Professionally narrated audiobooks from a very large catalogue, including Audible exclusives.
•
Premium membership includes thousands of titles in an all-you-can-listen catalogue plus a monthly credit.
•
Immersion Reading highlights the Kindle text as the narrator reads, when you own both editions.
•
Offline downloads, a sleep timer, and playback on Apple Watch, CarPlay and Alexa devices.
Or, for your books: Book2Speech
•
Any book, not just the bestsellers that got an audiobook: fewer than 1 in 100 books ever does.
•
Unlimited free listening in English with Standard voices, no trial clock.
•
A real audiobook file to keep: M4B with chapters and cover, or MP3. One is included on the Free plan.
•
Built for whole books: the book’s own chapters, a start past the front matter, page clutter left out of PDFs.
•
265 narrators in 42 languages, and 70,000 free classics ready to play.
•
Paid plans from $4.99 a month.
Notes on the comparison
Price in USD from the US App Store in-app purchase list on 2026-10-07; the vendor homepage gives no figure (“One-time purchase. No ads. No data collection.”).
Formats from the App Store description: PDF (including scanned), EPUB, Word (.docx), PowerPoint, OpenOffice, HTML, TXT, RTF, Markdown. MOBI absent.
Word highlighting and the sleep timer (now “Sleep Assistant”) are confirmed on the vendor’s own blog. Chapter detection and pronunciation editing were not stated on a fetched page.
Prices in USD from the vendor membership page on 2026-10-07; the US App Store lists different in-app prices (e.g. Plus Monthly $7.99, Premium Plus Monthly $15.99, Annual $159.99).
Audible plays audiobooks published to Audible and has no text-to-speech for your own files: its pages describe narration made by authors and publishers, not listeners. Its AI-narrated “Virtual Voice” titles are produced by authors through Kindle Direct Publishing (US beta), not by listeners.
Amazon’s Kindle app (not Audible) can read Kindle-store books aloud with the device’s own voice through Assistive Reader.
Read & Listen requires both the Kindle ebook and the Audible audiobook of the same edition.
Audio file export, voice choice, pronunciation editing and a top playback speed are not stated on the fetched pages (the App Store says only “Adjustable playback speed”).
Questions people ask
Which is cheaper, Speech Central or Audible?
Speech Central: One-time purchase: Speech Central Pro $9.99 in-app purchase (US App Store). Audible: Standard $8.99/month (1 audiobook a month); Premium $14.95/month or $149.50/year (12 credits) or $229.50/year (24 credits), with the all-you-can-listen catalogue. For books, Book2Speech starts free and from $4.99 a month.
Which has a better free plan, Speech Central or Audible?
Speech Central: Free download with a one-time in-app upgrade; free access for blind users with VoiceOver and for schools deploying through Apple School Manager. Audible: 30-day free trial, then a paid membership. Book2Speech’s Free plan has unlimited English listening with Standard voices.
Can I download audiobooks with Speech Central or Audible?
Speech Central: not confirmed on its own pages. Audible: not confirmed on its own pages. Book2Speech downloads an M4B with chapters and cover, or an MP3, and the Free plan includes one.