Compare · Voice Dream Reader vs Audible
Voice Dream Reader vs Audible
Voice Dream Reader: Text-to-speech reader for Apple devices for listening to PDFs, EPUBs, Word documents and web pages. Audible: Amazon’s audiobook store and membership: professionally narrated audiobooks and podcasts from its catalogue, rather than narration of your own files. Here is how they differ, and where Book2Speech fits if what you want is your books as audiobooks.
Choose Voice Dream Reader if…
•
Fully offline: “All voices work offline and play in the background even with the screen locked.”
•
Long-standing accessibility focus, including Bookshare books, finger reading and a pronunciation dictionary.
•
Skips PDF headers and footers automatically.
•
Runs across iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Apple Vision.
Choose Audible if…
•
Professionally narrated audiobooks from a very large catalogue, including Audible exclusives.
•
Premium membership includes thousands of titles in an all-you-can-listen catalogue plus a monthly credit.
•
Immersion Reading highlights the Kindle text as the narrator reads, when you own both editions.
•
Offline downloads, a sleep timer, and playback on Apple Watch, CarPlay and Alexa devices.
Or, for your books: Book2Speech
•
Any book, not just the bestsellers that got an audiobook: fewer than 1 in 100 books ever does.
•
Unlimited free listening in English with Standard voices, no trial clock.
•
A real audiobook file to keep: M4B with chapters and cover, or MP3. One is included on the Free plan.
•
Built for whole books: the book’s own chapters, a start past the front matter, page clutter left out of PDFs.
•
265 narrators in 42 languages, and 70,000 free classics ready to play.
•
Paid plans from $4.99 a month.
Notes on the comparison
Prices in USD from the US App Store listing on 2026-10-07; the vendor homepage shows no pricing. The listing says “A subscription is required to access the app. A free trial is offered to new users.”
Format list from the App Store description: PDF, plain text, MS Word, PowerPoint, RTF, Google Docs, web articles, Bookshare books, EPUB. MOBI is absent.
Audio export, a sleep timer, chapter detection and a top speed were not stated on the fetched pages; the homepage’s “export” refers to highlights and notes.
Prices in USD from the vendor membership page on 2026-10-07; the US App Store lists different in-app prices (e.g. Plus Monthly $7.99, Premium Plus Monthly $15.99, Annual $159.99).
Audible plays audiobooks published to Audible and has no text-to-speech for your own files: its pages describe narration made by authors and publishers, not listeners. Its AI-narrated “Virtual Voice” titles are produced by authors through Kindle Direct Publishing (US beta), not by listeners.
Amazon’s Kindle app (not Audible) can read Kindle-store books aloud with the device’s own voice through Assistive Reader.
Read & Listen requires both the Kindle ebook and the Audible audiobook of the same edition.
Audio file export, voice choice, pronunciation editing and a top playback speed are not stated on the fetched pages (the App Store says only “Adjustable playback speed”).
Questions people ask
Which is cheaper, Voice Dream Reader or Audible?
Voice Dream Reader: In-app purchases on the US App Store: Monthly Subscription $4.99; Annual Subscription tiers at $39.99, $59.99, $79.99 and $89.99; Premium $79.99; premium voices $4.99 each. Audible: Standard $8.99/month (1 audiobook a month); Premium $14.95/month or $149.50/year (12 credits) or $229.50/year (24 credits), with the all-you-can-listen catalogue. For books, Book2Speech starts free and from $4.99 a month.
Which has a better free plan, Voice Dream Reader or Audible?
Voice Dream Reader: No free plan: free download with a free trial for new users, then a subscription is required. Audible: 30-day free trial, then a paid membership. Book2Speech’s Free plan has unlimited English listening with Standard voices.
Can I download audiobooks with Voice Dream Reader or Audible?
Voice Dream Reader: not confirmed on its own pages. Audible: not confirmed on its own pages. Book2Speech downloads an M4B with chapters and cover, or an MP3, and the Free plan includes one.