Compare · Voice Dream Reader vs Speech Central
Voice Dream Reader vs Speech Central
Voice Dream Reader: Text-to-speech reader for Apple devices for listening to PDFs, EPUBs, Word documents and web pages. Speech Central: Text-to-speech app for reading PDFs, web articles, books and documents, sold as a one-time purchase with no ads or data collection. Here is how they differ, and where Book2Speech fits if what you want is your books as audiobooks.
Choose Voice Dream Reader if…
•
Fully offline: “All voices work offline and play in the background even with the screen locked.”
•
Long-standing accessibility focus, including Bookshare books, finger reading and a pronunciation dictionary.
•
Skips PDF headers and footers automatically.
•
Runs across iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Apple Vision.
Choose Speech Central if…
•
One-time purchase instead of a subscription, and free for blind users and schools.
•
Works offline with the device’s own voices; runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac and Windows.
•
Export of text to audio files for offline listening (format not stated on the fetched pages).
•
Deep customisation and accessibility profiles for ADHD, dyslexia and low vision.
Or, for your books: Book2Speech
•
Any book, not just the bestsellers that got an audiobook: fewer than 1 in 100 books ever does.
•
Unlimited free listening in English with Standard voices, no trial clock.
•
A real audiobook file to keep: M4B with chapters and cover, or MP3. One is included on the Free plan.
•
Built for whole books: the book’s own chapters, a start past the front matter, page clutter left out of PDFs.
•
265 narrators in 42 languages, and 70,000 free classics ready to play.
•
Paid plans from $4.99 a month.
Notes on the comparison
Prices in USD from the US App Store listing on 2026-10-07; the vendor homepage shows no pricing. The listing says “A subscription is required to access the app. A free trial is offered to new users.”
Format list from the App Store description: PDF, plain text, MS Word, PowerPoint, RTF, Google Docs, web articles, Bookshare books, EPUB. MOBI is absent.
Audio export, a sleep timer, chapter detection and a top speed were not stated on the fetched pages; the homepage’s “export” refers to highlights and notes.
Price in USD from the US App Store in-app purchase list on 2026-10-07; the vendor homepage gives no figure (“One-time purchase. No ads. No data collection.”).
Formats from the App Store description: PDF (including scanned), EPUB, Word (.docx), PowerPoint, OpenOffice, HTML, TXT, RTF, Markdown. MOBI absent.
Word highlighting and the sleep timer (now “Sleep Assistant”) are confirmed on the vendor’s own blog. Chapter detection and pronunciation editing were not stated on a fetched page.
Questions people ask
Which is cheaper, Voice Dream Reader or Speech Central?
Voice Dream Reader: In-app purchases on the US App Store: Monthly Subscription $4.99; Annual Subscription tiers at $39.99, $59.99, $79.99 and $89.99; Premium $79.99; premium voices $4.99 each. Speech Central: One-time purchase: Speech Central Pro $9.99 in-app purchase (US App Store). For books, Book2Speech starts free and from $4.99 a month.
Which has a better free plan, Voice Dream Reader or Speech Central?
Voice Dream Reader: No free plan: free download with a free trial for new users, then a subscription is required. Speech Central: Free download with a one-time in-app upgrade; free access for blind users with VoiceOver and for schools deploying through Apple School Manager. Book2Speech’s Free plan has unlimited English listening with Standard voices.
Can I download audiobooks with Voice Dream Reader or Speech Central?
Voice Dream Reader: not confirmed on its own pages. Speech Central: not confirmed on its own pages. Book2Speech downloads an M4B with chapters and cover, or an MP3, and the Free plan includes one.